Preview remove location info Yosemite
Preview remove location info Yosemite

When you shoot photos with most smartphones, they’ll embed location information for all sorts of uses. But if you get some photos onto your Mac and would rather remove location info before sharing them, Preview gained a tool in OS X Yosemite that makes this pretty easy:

  • Open one or more photos in Preview. If you select multiple photos in Finder and use ⌘-O, they’ll all open in a single tabbed pane in Preview, which makes these little edits even easier
  • Select the first photo you want to de-localize
  • Go to Tools > Show Inspector
  • click the (i) tab in the Inspector, then the GPS sub-tab
  • At the bottom of this tab click “Remove Location Info”
  • hit ⌘-S to save this change
  • select the next photo, rinse, repeat

That should remove all location info from the photos so they’re safe for sharing. You might be able to automate this with OS X’s Automator, though I haven’t tried yet.

Support Finer Things in Tech on Patreon
You May Also Like

📱 iPadOS: Swipe between multiple apps in Slide Over, see them all at once

Slide Over is a useful feature that became even useful-ier in the new iPadOS. Here are a couple quick tricks.

📱💻 Slack tip: You can unsubscribe from threads

Finally, an easy way out. Though I wish this was more apparent.

📱 iOS 13: Create collections of places in Apple Maps, Share them

Finally.

💻 Mail: Open messages in Split View when in full screen

When in full screen, Mail for Mac has an option to open messages and drafts in a separate Split View. It maximizes your full screen mail triage real estate.